This year – 2020 marks 150 years of the Gilmorehill campus at the University of Glasgow.
Today the Gilmorehill campus is comprised of more than 100 buildings but it started in 1870 with the University’s main building – The Gilbert Scott Building designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott.
To mark the anniversary we are sharing via twitter, records and items from across our Archives & Special Collections that illustrate the history of the move from the Old College on High Street to the now iconic Gilbert Scott Building under the hashtag #Gilmorehill150.
In 2016, the book Building Knowledge: An Architectural History of the University of Glasgow written by Nick Haynes was published and it documents in great detail the University’s architectural history and was the result of a partnership project between Historic Environment Scotland and the University of Glasgow in 2011-12.
Earlier this year, a member of the ASC team Jules Koch was tasked with looking again at records in our collections to select items and research stories to mark the anniversary and in March we began to publish regular tweets that will explore different aspects of the move to Gilmorehill.
These will include the construction of the new building and the move from the Old College on the High Street. As well as posts exploring the administrative and financial arrangements this necessitated and features of the new building, it’s 19th century teaching facilities and reactions to it from staff and students.
Further blog posts are planned in the next few months including one prepared by Andrew Mackay as the result of his History of Art student placement with us. Please do follow us on twitter @UofGlasgowASC to find out more.
Categories: Archives and Special Collections